Power and Control: Domestic and Intimate-Partner Violence in LGBTQ Relationships

No one actually knows this story but me and God.

Seven years ago I was in a relationship with another woman. She was beautiful, smart and had a great career. We shared a mutual respect for family, food and good times. The woman was also an abuser. I didn’t know that at the time. I wouldn’t come to understand that until a couple of years later. I don’t think I ever considered it abuse for two reasons. The first was that, as a masculine-of-centre (MOC) identified woman, I internalized the idea that I shouldn’t admit to exhibiting any type of behaviour that is considered weak. Admitting that you were being abused by your femme partner is a definite no-no.

Read The Full Story Here:

Power and Control: Domestic and Intimate-Partner Violence in LGBTQ Relationships

Edited By:

Sunili Govinnage: https://twitter.com/sunili

Image via “lesbians love” Pinterest


Leave a Reply

