10 Things That I Am Believing In God For That People Think I Don’t Deserve

Over the last month or so there has been a lot of social media rumblings about Pastor Creflo Dollar posting a GoFundMe page for a $65 million plane. People said he was just another money grubbing, cheating, thieving minister. That he was a “prosperity” minister who wanted to dig further into the pockets of desperate believers. Without getting into the fact that actual members of his congregation and people who follow his ministry affirm that he spends most of his time crossing the globe ministering or the fact that he preaches 2 services a Sunday like most ministers these days except HIS 2 services take place on opposite sides of the country. I‘m not going to get into the yays or nays on if he needs a plane I really don’t have an opinion on that. However, there is one thing that I am SHOCKED that all these Christian bloggers out here haven’t touched and that is the concept of faith. You know, the substance of thing HOPED FOR, the evidence of things not seen. So Pastor Dollar did it himself.

In his first address of the fundraising debacle he spoke on the concept of believing in God and having faith that something radical can happen. Whether you believe in his reasoning for needing a plane, or even if he needs a plane at all, the fact is folks go to church every Sunday and have preachers trying to illustrate this radical faith. Those that don’t go to church pour over shows like OWN’s “Super Soul Sunday” or look to people like Iyanla Vanzant for inspiration that radical things can happen in their lives when they least expect it or don’t traditionally deserve it. So I’d have to say I agree with the Pastor. Hey if he wants to believe that God will provide him with a $65million plane then who are we to stop him? At least we agree that he SHOULD be doing something noble with his plane and most likely is. No one says boo when musicians and actors post pictures on Instagram and whatnot of pimped out jets that they also bought with your money. And with all of the dust up, even with the GoFundMe page taken down he got his plane (the way he should have I might add from one of his financial partners.I hope he fired whoever put that page up in the first place.)

There are a whole bunch of things I want to see happen in my life that folks think I don’t deserve. After all, I’m just a bum who thinks blogging is a real job. So with this in mind I present you with “10 Things I Am Believing in God For That People Think I Don’t Deserve.”

10. $500,000 so that my mama and sister can start a Starbucks franchise.

9. $500,000 more so that I can spend the next year traveling and writing without worry.

8. Unlimited amount of money to start my Soul School where we teach children empowerment, leadership, cultural diversity and how to be fierce advocates for social change. Basically to raise a nationwide community of little community activist, artivists, thinkers, doers, and organizers.

7. My first QPOC themed New York Times Bestseller turned Academy Award winning film.

6. That I no longer have to answer the question “what do you do” anymore just because I don’t want a 9 to 5 job.

5. To feel safe in my QPOC body.

4. Hell, Just one house in this jacked up financial market. Just one place that I can call my own.

3. Student Loan Forgiveness and financial stability as an artist.

2. A long-lasting partnership with a woman I love that is recognized worldwide so that when I die she can receive all the financial benefits from the aforementioned bestseller and houses and other shit.

1. Give me the damn jet instead. I don’t have a congregation or financial partners, yet people will still think I don’t deserve it because I am “poor” and the poor don’t deserve to live. Even if I I told them I prayed for it and God sent it to me they would say you don’t deserve anything you didn’t work for it. And I would say well what’s the point of having faith at all again?

Now the interesting thing is that half of my list has to do with my queer, radical, womanist identity. I wonder if Pastor Dollar would think I deserve those things I’m believing God for as much as he does that jet. Now there is a question worth asking.


Leave a Reply

